Skip to product information
1 of 1


Various - We're An American Band: A Journey Through The USA Hard Rock Scene 1967-1973 (CD)

Various - We're An American Band: A Journey Through The USA Hard Rock Scene 1967-1973 (CD)

SKU: GRPF2919300.2
Regular price $38.99 USD
Regular price $0.00 USD Sale price $38.99 USD
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Sealed. Three CD set.

Three CD set charting the birth and early development of American hard rock. In the late 60s, the parallel emergence of psychedelia and the blues-based power trio format saw pop evolve into rock. In America, bands became harder, heavier, rawer and louder to a backdrop of the Vietnam War, street drugs and increasingly powerful amps. Commercially successful acts like Vanilla Fudge, Steppenwolf, Blue Cheer and Iron Butterfly spearheaded a new wave of bands whose sound would later be codified as heavy metal. Over three CDs and four hours of music, 'We're An American Band' charts hard rock's evolution during the late 60s and early 70s, culminating in Grand Funk's game-changing, chart-topping late 1973 single of the same name. In addition to the aforementioned bands, we feature the likes of Alice Cooper, The Stooges, ZZ Top, MC5 and Love, hard rock dilettantes (Todd Rundgren, Kim Fowley, even Muddy Waters) and such pioneers as Kurt Cobain-endorsed satanic rockers Coven and early metalheads Sir Lord Baltimore. We include tracks from some of the most valuable vinyl LPs on the planet (Bolder Damn, Brigade), ultra-rare local singles (The Mass Confusion Rock Band, Wildwood) and vital music that went unreleased at the time (B. F. Trike, Cold Sun, etc). With accompanying 48-page booklet, 'We're An American Band' is a fascinating window on American rock's epic journey from the bowels of the late 60s underground counterculture to mainstream mid-70s acceptance.

Disc 1
1 Ticket to Ride - Vanilla Fudge
2 Iron Butterfly Theme - Iron Butterfly
3 Summertime Blues - Blue Cheer
4 The Ostrich (Album Version) - Steppenwolf
5 Remlap's Cave Part II - the Savage Resurrection
6 Man Who Paints the
7 Pictures - Fever Tree
8 Why Should I Care - the Sound Barrier
9 Pride of Man - Quicksilver Messenger Service
10 My Own Life - Easy Chair
11 Chicken Wire Lady - Blues Magoos
12 April 15th - the Human Beinz
13 Plastic People -Wildwood
14 The War Rages on - Mass
15 Confusion Rock Band
16 Black Sheep - SRC
17 Let's Spend the Night
18 Together - Muddy Waters
19 Crazy Woman - Dragonfly
20 Hot Smoke and Sasafrass - the Bubble Puppy
21 Good Morning Day - Omnibus
22 Mister Genie Man - Society's Children
23 Blow My Mind - Darius
24 Nightrider - Kim Fowley

Disc 2
1 Kick Out the Jams - MC5
2 Time Seller - Stack
3 Under the Ice - Nazz
4 Fields of Regret - Alice Cooper
5 Oceans Inside Me - Stone Garden
6 I Wanna Be Your Dog - the Stooges
7 Dark-Eyed Woman - Spirit
8 Journeys - the Litter
9 Robert Montgomery - Love
10 Donovan's Monkey - Stalk-Forrest Group
11 Wicked Woman - Coven
12 Welcome to the Void - Morgen
13 Babylon - Conception
14 House of the Rising Sun - Frijid Pink
15 Sad Day - Fuse
16 Mississippi Queen - Mountain
17 No Parking (Live) - Gold
18 Dark Road - Christopher
19 Self-Made Gold - Brigade
20 Death of a Virgin - Damnation of Adam Blessing

Disc 3
1 Neighbor, Neighbor - ZZ Top
2 Twisted Flower - Cold Sun
3 Stars in the Sky - Wildfire
4 Helium Head (I Got a Love) - Sir Lord Baltimore
5 Time and Changes - B. F. Trike
6 Face the Crowd - Demian
7 Road Runner - Head Over Heels
8 Montreal Jail - Boomerang
9 Evil - Cactus
10 B.R.T.C.D. - Bolder Damn
11 Never Coming Down - Estes Brothers
12 Transmaniacon MC - Blue Öyster Cult
13 You Can - Earthen Vessel
14 The Queen - Bang
15 My Time Is Over - Sudden Death
16 It Swallowed the Sun - the Flow
17 Suicide - Dust
18 Love Jumped Through My Window - Arthur Lee
19 Is It My Name - Todd Rundgren
20 You Know - Stray Dog
21 We're An American Band - Grand Funk

View full details