Skip to product information
1 of 2


Various - Jon Savage's 1980-1982: Art Of Things To Come (CD)

Various - Jon Savage's 1980-1982: Art Of Things To Come (CD)

SKU: ACI6710792.2
Regular price $24.99 USD
Regular price Sale price $24.99 USD
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Sealed. Double CD.

Ace is delighted to continue with Jon Savage's highly respected year-by-year series documenting the music scene on a world stage, which began with a volume based on his successful 1966 book for Faber. A genre-spanning two-disc array of pivotal singles, extended mixes, context-providers, scene-stealers and lost gems from disco, b-boy, new wave, rap, indie and synth: these are the decks that defined the dawn of the 80s, captured the mood and crystallised Jon's personal experiences of these years. Artists include the Associates, Grandmaster Flash & the Furious Five, the Human League, Grace Jones, New Order, Yello, the Peech Boys and Zapp. Living in Manchester, working for Granada TV in tandem with Tony Wilson and spinning discs at Joy Division and New Order gigs, this was a time where clubs were key for Jon. It's no surprise that this is the first volume where 12-inch singles make their mark in the series. The 80s began with Thatcher in power, the rise of the New Right in America and the death of Ian Curtis, but by 1982 the world was travelling out of post-punk darkness into the light of a bright new decade. It was beginning of the art of things to come.

Disc 1
1 Underground - the Bizarros
2 Twist and Crawl - the Beat
3 Candy-O - the Cars
4 These Days - Joy Division
5 Simple Stuff - Echo & the Bunnymen
6 Our Love (12-Inch Version) - Donna Summer
7 The Apartment - Giorgio Moroder
8 She's Lost Control - Grace Jones
9 Faith - Manicured Noise
10 Whip It - Devo
11 More Bounce to the Ounce - Zapp
12 I Travel - Simple Minds
13 Flight (12-Inch Version) - a Certain Ratio
14 Dirty Back Road - the B-52's
15 Euthenics - Modern Eon
16 Too Many Creeps - Bush Tetras
17 How We Gonna Make the Black Nation Rise?
18 (12-Inch Version) - Brother "D" with Collective Effort
19 Hello Operator... I Mean Dad... I Mean Police
20 I Can't Even Remember Who I Am - Was (Not Was)
21 Mack the Knife - the Psychedelic Furs
22 Home Is Where the Heart Is (12-Inch Vers.) - Public Image LTD

Disc 2
1 Poor Old Soul PT 2 - Orange Juice
2 Primary (12-Inch Version) - the Cure
3 The Sound of the Crowd - the Human League
4 Pictures - Josef K
5 Everything's Gone Green (12-Inch Version) - New Order
6 Bostich (12-Inch Version) - Yello
7 Message Oblique Speech (12-Inch Version) - the Associates
8 Bedsitter (12-Inch Version) - Soft Cell
9 Adventures of Grandmaster Flash on the Wheels of Steel (12-Inch Version) - Grandmaster Flash & the Furious Five
10 Art on 45 (12-Inch Version) - Royal Family and the Poor
11 Hydraulic Pump PT 2 (12-Inch Version) - P-Funk All Stars
12 Planet Rock - Afrika Bambaataa & the Soul Sonic Force
13 We're So Cool - Au Pairs
14 Don't Make Me Wait (12-Inch Dub Mix) - Peech Boys
15 My City Was Gone - Pretenders

View full details