Skip to product information
1 of 1


Various - C90: Deluxe 3CD Set

Various - C90: Deluxe 3CD Set

SKU: CRR9180239.2
Regular price $34.99 USD
Regular price Sale price $34.99 USD
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.


Three CD set. Over a decade now since punk rocked the British musical scene to it's foundations and caused an eruption of independently produced records, the scene and a new generation of figurehead artists began to let ambition in and head overground, playing to increasingly large crowds, working with bigger budgets and selling more copies, finding a footing in the UK's Top Forty, venturing into the USA and, ultimately, creating a mainstream audience now primed for credible, guitar-tinged pop. Meanwhile, an underground revolution in clubland began to push towards the commercial same space, resulting in an inevitable fusion of songcraft and dancefloor aesthetics.

C90 captures perfectly the moment these tribes began to coalesce. From the opening, club-friendly rendition of The Charlatans' 'Polar Bear' to The La's knowingly backward looking 'Timeless Melody' and all in-between, this is the sound of a scene dropping the raincoats, dropping acid and aiming for domination. 1990 was the start of a new decade when the Indie scene was dominated by Madchester and the arrival of Shoegaze and with nods towards grunge and what would become known as Britpop, plus hints of a proto-laddism peering out from between the cracks in a post-Smiths aesthetic, the sound of 1990, it could be argued, set the tone for the remainder of the decade.

Disc 1
1 Polar Bear
2 Sway
3 Perfume
4 The Storm
5 Only Love Can Break Your Heart
6 It's on
7 Get Higher
8 My Rising Star
9 Wonderment
10 Thoughtforms
11 Anyway That You Want Me
12 Swansong
13 Juggernaut Rides
14 Avalyn I
15 Half-Life, Remembered
16 Something More (Ambient Version)
17 Can't Be Sure
18 She Sings Alone
19 Please Let Me Go

Disc 2
1 New Art Riot
2 Aim
3 Pop Song
4 Beam Me Up
5 To Kill a Slow Girl Walking
6 Welcome to Dead Town
7 Listen
8 Seems to Me
9 Big City (Waves of Joy) (Demo)
10 I Fell in Love Last Night
11 Sean Connery
12 Take
13 Noah's Ark
14 Amnesia
15 Earthwheel
16 If I Could Shine
17 Mad As Love
18 Crazy Mixed Up Kid
19 These Things Happen
20 Strange
21 I Know

Disc 3
1 Timeless Melody
2 Highrise Love
3 Everything About You
4 Sleep
5 Potboiler
6 Dead Like You
7 Twenty-Fifteen
8 Beside the Sea
9 Little Valley Town
10 Sunday Never Comes Around
11 Good Morning
12 Learning to Keep My Mouth Shut
13 Lovesville USA
14 She Made Everything Groovy
15 Out of My Mind
16 Darkest Blue
17 My Heart Is Where My Home Is
18 When I Find You
19 Nothing in Your Heart
20 What Is More Than Life
21 I Really Do Love You Penelope
22 Missing You
23 Cheat on Me

View full details