Skip to product information
1 of 1


Rachel Sweet - Baby: Complete Stiff Recordings 1978-1980 (CD)

Rachel Sweet - Baby: Complete Stiff Recordings 1978-1980 (CD)

SKU: RPM2959939.2
Regular price $22.99 USD
Regular price Sale price $22.99 USD
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.


Digitally remastered two CD collection containing the Pop vocalist's beloved recordings for the legendary British indie label. Already talented way beyond her years, Rachel had toured the US and recorded several independent Country singles by the time she took the train from London to John O'Groats with backing band the Records to become the surprise hit on 1978's 'Be Stiff' tour at the tender age of 16. Rachel's Country Music leanings were perfectly juxtaposed with songwriter/producer Liam 'Walk Like An Egyptian' Sternberg's urban new wave sketches and pop pastiches of the past with retro recordings of Carla Thomas' Stax US hit B-A-B-Y (a Top 40 UK hit for Rachel in January 1979) and the Spectropop treatment of Dusty Springfield's Stay Awhile. B-A-B-Y: THE COMPLETE STIFF RECORDINGS 1978-1980 collects together Rachel's entire recorded output for the label with all the necessary Stuffs including compilation only tracks, live and remix B-sides as well as both of her albums for the label.

Disc 1
1 Truckstop Queen
2 Tourist Boys
3 B-A-B-Y
4 Just My Style
5 Who Does Lisa Like?
6 Wildwood Saloon
7 Stay Awhile
8 Suspended Animation
9 It's So Different Here
10 Cuckoo Clock
11 Pin a Medal on Mary
12 Girl with a Synthesizer
13 Stranger in the House
14 I'll Watch the News
15 Be Stiff
16 Wildwood Saloon (Live)

Disc 2
1 I Go to Pieces
2 Sad Song
3 Tonight
4 Jealous
5 I've Got a Reason
6 New Age
7 Baby Let's Play House
8 New Rose
9 Fool's Gold
10 Take Good Care of Me
11 Spellbound
12 Lovers Lane
13 Foul Play
14 Tonight Ricky
15 Spellbound (Special Disco Remix)

View full details