Skip to product information
1 of 1


Owsley - Owsley (LP)

Owsley - Owsley (LP)

SKU: RLGM1549.1
Regular price $34.99 USD
Regular price Sale price $34.99 USD
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.


You probably heard Alabama-born multi-instrumentalist Will Owsley before you heard of him; he was a mainstay in the bands of Amy Grant and Shania Twain during the mid-'90s. He then pulled a Tom Scholz of Boston-style maneuver and recorded his own album, which he shopped to the major labels as a take-it-or-leave-it deal. The Giant label bit, as well they should have; Owsley is one of the better power pop albums of the '90s and certainly one of the best power pop debuts ever to come down the pike (that this self-recorded album got a Grammy nom for best engineered album is further testimony as to Owsley's many talents). You'll hear a little Cars, a little Todd Rundgren, and a healthy helping of Owsley's former bandmate Ben Folds, but the crunch of Owsley's guitars makes sure the "power" gets as much play as the "pop." Highlights include "Oh No the Radio," "Coming Up Roses," and "Good Old Days," but really this is a remarkably consistent album, full of hooks and some sonic surprises (cello! Organ!). Owsley makes it's LP debut in a tan vinyl edition limited to 1000 copies, complete with a full-color inner sleeves. You'll be playing some of these songs on repeat in your head after a couple of listens.

Side A
1 Oh No the Radio
2 I'm Alright
3 Coming Up Roses
4 Good Old Days
5 The Sky Is Falling
6 Sentimental Favorite

Side B
1 Zavelow House
2 Sonny Boy
3 The Homecoming Song
4 Uncle John's Farm
5 Class Clown/Class Clown (Reprise)

View full details