Skip to product information
1 of 1


Frijid Pink - The Deram Recordings 1970-1971 (CD)

Frijid Pink - The Deram Recordings 1970-1971 (CD)

SKU: ESOT2948369.2
Regular price $23.99 USD
Regular price $0.00 USD Sale price $23.99 USD
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Sealed. Two CD set.

Digitally remastered collection of all the recordings by Detroit psychedelic rock band Frijid Pink, first issued on Decca's Deram label between February 1970 and December 1971. Frijid Pink formed in Detroit, Michigan in the late 1960s from the ashes of cover band The Detroit Vibrations. The band featured Gary Thompson (guitar), Kelly Green - a stage name for Tom Beaudry (vocals), Tom Harris (bass) and Rick Stevers (drums). The band's form of hard-hitting psychedelic rock and blues soon got them noticed on the Michigan live circuit where the band shared bills with other acts such as MC5, The Stooges and The Amboy Dukes. Their hard fuzz driven cover of the song 'The House of the Rising Sun' was issued as a single in early 1970 and reached the US top ten; it was a top five hit in the UK and a number one single in Germany. The single appeared on their impressive self-titled debut album issued in January 1970, which gained the band much attention. Their second album, 'Defrosted', was issued in the summer of 1970 and featured material in the same hard rock blues vein as their debut album. After it's release, Frijid Pink underwent some line up changes and by the time of their last single for Decca, 'Lost Son', only Tom Harris and Rick Stevers remained from the original line-up, with Jon Wearing joining as vocalist, Craig Webb as guitarist and Larry Zelanka as keyboard player.

Disc 1
1 God Gave Me You
2 Crying Shame
3 I'm on My Way
4 Drivin' Blues
5 Tell Me Why
6 End of the Line
7 House of the Rising Sun
8 I Want to Be Your Lover
9 Boozin' Blues
10 Heartbreak Hotel (A-Side of Single)
11 Music for the People (A-Side of Single)

Disc 2
1 Black Lace
2 Sing a Song of Freedom
3 I'll Never Be Lonely
4 Bye Bye Blues
5 Pain in My Heart
6 Sloony
7 I'm Movin'
8 I Haven't Got the Time
9 We're Gonna Be There (When Johnny Comes Marchin' Home) (A-Side of Single)
10 Shorty Kline (B-Side of Single)
11 Lost Son (A-Side of Single)
12 I Love Her (B-Side of Single)

View full details