Skip to product information
1 of 1


Big Star - #1 Record (CD)

Big Star - #1 Record (CD)

SKU: STX35951.2
Regular price $11.99 USD
Regular price Sale price $11.99 USD
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.


Digitally remastered edition of the legendary guitar pop band's 1972 album. #1 RECORD was the debut album from Big Star, the critically acclaimed, Memphis-based band which is often credited with creating the Power Pop sound. Packaging includes liner notes penned by R.E.M.'s Mike Mills, who cites Big Star as one of his biggest influences, and calls the album 'a record of rich sonic textures, of declaration and vulnerability.' #1 Record is the only Big Star album which has the combined writing power of both founders, Alex Chilton and Chris Bell. Fervent Anglophiles, Chilton and Bell employed a Lennon/McCartney style of collaborative songwriting to create their debut - Chilton taking a visceral approach, often laying down guitar and vocal tracks in one take, while Bell added Polish with overdubs and harmonies. #1 Record has become widely recognized as a milestone album in the history of rock 'n' roll.

1 Feel
2 The Ballad of El Goodo
3 In the Street
4 Thirteen
5 Don't Lie to Me
6 The India Song
7 When My Baby's Beside Me
8 My Life Is Right
9 Give Me Another Chance
10 Try Again
11 Watch the Sunrise
12 St / 110/6

View full details