Skip to product information
1 of 2


Action - Shadows And Reflections: The Complete Recordings 1964-1968 (CD)

Action - Shadows And Reflections: The Complete Recordings 1964-1968 (CD)

SKU: GRPF9184503.2
Regular price $63.99 USD
Regular price Sale price $63.99 USD
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.


UK four CD digibook. Sixties Mod band The Action only released six singles in their lifetime - or seven, if you count a pre-Action single by The Boys - but their legend has grown exponentially since their demise in 1968. The Action was the first band signed by Beatles producer George Martin after he left EMI to set up his own company AIR Productions. In due course, he produced the band's five singles issued on Parlophone between 1965 and 1967 as well as tracks intended for a never-released album. Shadows And Reflections is far and away the most comprehensive tribute to The Action so far assembled, boasting all their known recordings in the studio and live on radio/TV. Many of the original Parlophone single mixes have never been reissued in their original form on compact disc - until now. The fresh discovery of multi-tracks and rehearsal tapes has led to a whole disc's worth of previously unheard mixes and performances. The box set includes numerous photos of The Action in their heyday, with 16,000 words of sleeve-notes by David Wells and a 36-page booklet within a handsome digibook. Includes all previous material issued from the band's BBC sessions and post-Parlophone period, suitably remastered by Alec Palao.

Disc 1
1 Land of One Thousand Dances
2 In My Lonely Room
3 I'll Keep Holding on
4 Hey Sah-Lo-Ney
5 Baby You've Got It
6 Since I Lost My Baby
7 Never Ever
8 Twentyfourth Hour
9 Shadows and Reflections
10 Something Has Hit Me
11 The Harlem Shuffle
12 Wasn't It You
13 The Place
14 The Cissy
15 I Love You (Yeah!)
16 Come on, Come with Me
17 Just Once in My Life (New Mono Mix)
18 Mine Exclusively (BBC Session)
19 Reg King Interview / Baby You've Got It (BBC Session)
20 Take Me in Your Arms (Rock Me a Little While) (BBC Session)
21 I See You (BBC Session)
22 Shadows and Reflections (BBC Session)

Disc 2
1 I'll Keep Holding on
2 The Cissy
3 Never Ever
4 Since I Lost My Baby
5 Shadows and Reflections
6 Hey Sah-Lo-Ney
7 Something Has Hit Me
8 Baby You've Got It
9 I Love You (Yeah!)
10 Wasn't It You
11 The Harlem Shuffle
12 The Place
13 Twentyfourth Hour
14 Come on, Come with Me
15 Just Once in My Life
16 Something Has Hit Me (Rehearsal)
17 I Love You (Yeah)
18 (Backing Track Take 1)
19 Never Ever (Rehearsal)
20 Come on, Come with Me
21 (Backing Track Take 4)
22 Twentyfourth Hour (Alternative Version)
23 The Place (Backing Track Take 2)
24 Just Once in My Life (Take 2)
25 Something Has Hit Me (Alternative Backing Track)
26 Shadows and Reflections (Backing Track)

Disc 3
1 Come Around
2 Something to Say
3 Love Is All
4 Icarus
5 Strange Roads
6 Things You Cannot See
7 Brain (Full Length Version)
8 Look at the View
9 Climbing Up the Wall (See Me) (Full Length Vers.)
10 Really Doesn't Matter (Full Length Version)
11 I'm a Stranger
12 Little Boy (Full Length Version)
13 Follow Me
14 In My Dream (George Martin Orchestrated Version)
15 Only Dreaming
16 Dustbin Full of Rubbish
17 An Understanding Love
18 My Favourite Day
19 A Saying for Today
20 In My Dream (Demo Version)

Disc 4
1 It Ain't Fair - the Boys
2 I Want You - the Boys
3 Fine Looking Girl - the Boys
4 Girl (Why You Wanna Make Me Blue) (Decca Audition)
5 In My Lonely Room (Decca Audition)
6 You'll Want Me Back (Decca Audition)
7 I'll Keep Holding on (Live)
8 Land of One Thousand Dances / Uptight (Everything's Alright) (Live)
9 Going to a Go-Go (BBC Session)
10 Never Ever (BBC Session)
11 India (BBC Session)
12 Love Is All (BBC Session)
13 I'll Keep Holding on ("Edsel" Mix)
14 Baby You've Got It ("Edsel" Mix)
15 The Harlem Shuffle ("Edsel" Mix)
16 Just Once in My Life ("Edsel" Mix)
17 Never Ever ("Edsel" Mix)
18 Twentyfourth Hour ("Edsel" Mix)
19 Something Has Hit Me ("Edsel" Mix)
20 Shadows and Reflections ("Edsel" Mix)

View full details