Skip to product information
1 of 1


Matthew Sweet - Catspaw (LP)

Matthew Sweet - Catspaw (LP)

Regular price $24.98 USD
Regular price Sale price $24.98 USD
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.


CATSPAW (figuratively, uncommon) Someone or something that comes down quickly upon a victim in the manner of a cat’s paw.

Matthew Sweet played in bands in Athens, Georgia as that scene exploded, collaborating with R.E.M.’s Michael Stipe, playing in Linda Stipe’s Oh-OK, and The Buzz Of Delight. That work scooped him up into the major label world making countless acclaimed solo records, forming the supergroup The Thorns with Shawn Mullins and Pete Droge, and beginning a series of covers albums with The Bangles’ Susannah Hoffs. Now, it’s time for Matthew to just plain rock out by himself again.

Omnivore Recordings is proud to announce the release of Catspaw—written, produced, recorded, mixed, and entirely preformed (save ferocious drumming from Ric Menck of Velvet Crush) by Matthew at his home studio. Mastered by Bob Ludwig, the Hofner bass and Novo guitars sing and howl, harkening back to classics like Girlfriend and Altered Beast—all while retaining the hooks that dig into the listener. Well, like a cat’s paw.

Available on CD, Digital, and Vinyl, Catspaw opens a new chapter in the storied history of Matthew Sweet—his first album in his fifth decade as a recording artist. It may seem cute on the outside, but be prepared to get smacked by Catspaw.

Side 1
1 Blown Away
2 Give A Little
3 Challenge The Gods
4 Come Home
5 Drifting
6 Best Of Me

Side 2
1 Stars Explode
2 Hold On Tight
3 At A Loss
4 No Surprise
5 Coming Soon
6 Parade Of Lights

View full details