Telescopes - Splashdown: The Complete Creation Recordings 1990-92 (CD)

Telescopes - Splashdown: The Complete Creation Recordings 1990-92 (CD)

#CD #Cherry Red #Creation Records #Stock #Telescopes
Regular price
Sale price
Shipping calculated at checkout.
Quantity must be 1 or more


2015 two CD collection. The Telescopes burst onto the Indie scene in 1988, their dissonant, psychedelic snarl was inspired by ‘60s punk rock and the Velvets and attracted comparisons with the likes of Loop, My Bloody Valentine and Spacemen 3. Early singles on Cheree and What Goes On turned heads. The band also released an acclaimed debut album Taste. In early 1990, The Telescopes signed to Creation Records, who were enjoying success with bands like Teenage Fanclub, Ride and Primal Scream. Over the course of 1990-1991, The Telescopes' sound evolved across three EPs. 'Precious Little' retained their earlier menace; 'Everso' was dreamier than before while 'Celeste' and 'Flying' blended psychedelia with a vaguely dancey backbeat. In 1992, The Telescopes unveiled their next album, #Untitled Second, a fascinating assemblage of their influences to date and a work which has matured well and subsequently inspired many so-called shoegaze bands. Sadly, the band disbanded soon after the LP's release but reunited a decade later. Since then, The Telescopes have embarked on a musical adventure, creating music which is both exploratory and engaging. Curated with the full cooperation of The Telescopes' front man Stephen Lawrie, Splashdown is the first-ever compilation to properly document the band's three-year tenure with Creation Records.

The first CD combines their four EPs for the label, with the added bonus of some tracks planned as the B-sides for an abandoned final EP.

Disc One (The EPs)
1. Precious Little
2. Deep Hole End
3. Never Hurt You
4. I Sense 3:03
5. Everso 3:15
6. Never Learn Not to Love
7. Wish of You
8. Celeste
9. All a Dreams
10. Celestial
11. Flying
12. Soul Full of Tears
13. High on Fire
14. The Sleepwalk
15. Tornado (Alt Version of 'Flying')
16. Sunspray
17. 16T#3
18. From the Inner Void I Fear

Disc Two (#Untitled Second)
1. Splashdown
2. High on Fire
3. You Set My Soul
4. Spaceships
5. The Presence of Your Grace
6. And
7. Flying
8. Yeah
9. Ocean Drive
10. Please Tell Mother
11. To the Shore
12. The Sleepwalk (Sitar Version)
13. Candy Says
14. The Good's Gone
15. Please Tell Mother
16. Splashdown
17. To the Shore
18. The Presence of Your Grace